2010 AIA San Francisco Design Awards Winners Announced

The American Institute of Architects, San Francisco chapter (AIA San Francisco) announces the winners of the 2010 AIA San Francisco Design Awards program. The winners were revealed and celebrated last night at a special gala held at the San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center. The emcees for the evening were Sarah Lynch, Editor in Chief, California Home + Design and Bill Roger, 2010 AIA San Francisco Board President.

At the gala, winners were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the built environment in the categories of Architecture and Interior Architecture, Energy + Sustainability, Historic Preservation and Innovation in Rehabilitation, Integrated Project Delivery, Young Architects and Associates, Unbuilt Design, and Urban Design in the Bay Area. Each of these award categories was divided into three subcategories—Honor, Merit, and Citation. In addition, awards for Special Achievement were also presented.

Complete information on the 2010 AIA San Francisco Design Award winners can be found at www.aiasf.org/awards. All award-winning projects will be on exhibition at the 3A Gallery in San Francisco during the Architecture and the City Festival this September.


Winners of the Architecture Award in the Honor category are Bohlin Cywinski Jackson for Apple Store in Manhattan; Jensen Architects for SFMOMA Rooftop Garden; Stanley Saitowitz/Natoma Architects for Tampa Museum of Art. Jensen Architects for Walden Studios; Kennerly Architecture & Planning for 1020 Pine Street; Perkins + Will for the San Francisco Conservatory of Music; Skidmore, Owings & Merrill for Poly International Plaza; and Terry & Terry Architecture for the Diamond Project are the Merit winners in this category. The Citation winners include: EHDD Architecture for the Science and Engineering Building at UC Merced; EHDD Architecture for Pritzker Family Children’s Zoo; Lundberg Design for SFMTA Bus Shelters; Stanley Saitowitz/Natoma Architects for Costa Rica House; Swatt/Miers Architects for Tea Houses and WRNS Studio for Mission Bay Block 27.

Winners in the Energy + Sustainability Honor category include Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects for ClimateWorks Foundation; and WRNS Studio for the Watsonville Area Water Operations Center. Merit winners in this category are Anderson Anderson Architecture for Harvard Yard Child Care Center; Daniel Smith & Associates Architects for Lancaster NZE Live/Work Townhome; and Sasaki Associates’ for the Graduate School of Management/Maurice J. Gallagher Jr. Hall at UC Davis. The Citation award went to MacLeod Design & Construction for MacLeod/Morand Residence.

The winners of this year’s newest category, Historic Preservation and Innovation in Rehabilitation, include Honor recipients Garavaglia Architecture for the Chinese Gambling Hall and General Store; Nadel Inc. for the Richmond Civic Center; Merit recipients Marcy Wong Donn Logan Architects for the Ford Assembly Building; Tom Eliot Fisch for Piers 1-1/2, 3 and 5; and Page & Turnbull for the Walt Disney Family Museum. Malcolm Davis Architecture received a Citation award for Stable Community.

The Integrated Project Delivery category Honor award recipient is SmithGroup for the UCSF Institute for Regeneration Medicine. A Citation award went to KMD Architects in collaboration with Webcor Builders for the San Francisco Public Utilities Commission Building.

Winners of the Interior Architecture Award in the Honor category are BCV Architects for Press Club and Min|Day for L Residence. Merit awards went to Aidlin Darling Design for Wexler’s Restaurant; Kuth/Ranieri Architects for Russian Hill Penthouse; Stanley Saitowitz/Natoma Architects for Toast Restaurant; and Tekton Architecture for Ebisu Restaurant. The Citation winners for this category are: Mark Horton/Architecture for Craft Restaurant; Melander Architects for Greenwich Village Townhouse Renovation; Ogrydziak/Prillinger Architects for Honighaus; Quezada Architecture for Bill Graham Presents/Live Nation SF.

The winners of the Unbuilt Design Award in the Honor category are IwamotoScott Architecture for Edgar Street Tower; Schwartz and Architecture for Crook|Cup|Bow|Twist. Merit awards went to architecture student Sean Canty for Eco-Triptych; Perkins + Will for Calexico Port of Entry; and Terry & Terry Architecture for Glen Ellen Project. The Citation awards went to Daniela Di Luzio for Italian Culinary Arts Center of San Francisco (student project); KMD Architects for the San Francisco Public Utilities Commission Building; architecture student Charles Ma for the Mission District Cultural and Athletic Center; and Min|Day for the Community CROPS Food Center.

In the Urban Design category, Perkins + Will won a Merit award for Mission Rock, Seawall Lot 337 and a citation award for Panama Pacifico.

Nish Kothari, LEED AP and Charles Lee, Associate AIA are this year’s recipients of the Young Associates Award.

Those honored with a Special Achievement Award include: California College of the Arts and Santa Clara University students for the design of Refract House and their commitment to sustainable living; The San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission for their Rising Tides competition and respond to sea level rise in San Francisco and beyond; and Rose McNulty, AIA for her leadership, service, passion and progressive social values to help the underserved in the community.


The 2010 AIA San Francisco Design Awards jurors included Cheryl Barton, The Office of Cheryl Barton | Ila Berman, California College of the Arts | Bonnie Bridges, AIA, Boor Bridges Architecture | Bill Burke, AIA, LEED AP, Pacific Energy Center | Jim Chappell, Associate AIA | Courtney Damkroger, San Francisco Planning Department Historic Preservation Commission | Jennifer Emerson, National Trust for Historic Preservation, Board of Trustees | Jill Finn, Associate AIA, Tangerine Design | Jack Gold, San Francisco Architectural Heritage | Bob Hale, FAIA, Rios Clementi Hale Studios | Anthea Hartig, National Trust for Historic Preservation | Anna Hernandez, Luna Textiles | Yvone Hobbs, AIA, Kaiser Permanente | Brad Jacobson, AIA, LEED AP, EHDD Architecture | Sarah Karlinsky, SPUR | Marian Keeler, Associate AIA, LEED AP, Simon & Associates | Jane Lin, AIA, LEED AP, Field Paoli | Clark Manus, FAIA, Heller Manus Architects | Jacinta McCann, AECOM | Eric Naslund, FAIA , Studio E | Zigmund Rubel, AIA, Aditazz | Don Rudy, AIA, LEED AP | John Schlesinger, AIA, John Schlesinger, AIA Architect


2010 Design Awards sponsors included: McGraw Hill Construction | Archvista | Dealey, Renton & Associates | Graftisoft | Hotel Carlton | Walter P Moore | WSP Flack + Kurtz.

The media sponsor for the 2010 AIA San Francisco Design Awards program was California Home + Design.

AIA San Francisco sustaining sponsors included: BPS | Ideate | Rutherford & Chekene | SmithGroup .

Complete information on the 2010 AIA San Francisco Design Award winners can be found at www.aiasf.org/awards.

  • Print
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
  • email

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

© 2010 ArchNow! BETA. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wordpress and ArchNow!.